C. Anandharamakrishnan

Anandharamakrishnan Chinnaswamy, commonly referred to as Anandharamakrishnan is an Indian scientist and academician in the field of food processing. He has two decades of experience in R&D at the CSIR - Central Food Technological Research Institute (CFTRI), a prestigious food research institution in the country. Presently (from April 2016), he is the Director, Indian Institute of Food Processing Technology, Thanjavur (functioning under the Ministry of Food Processing Industries, Govt. of India).

Anandharamakrishnan completed his B.Tech. in Chemical Engineering and M.Tech. from A.C. College of Technology, Anna University, India. He then achieved a doctoral degree from Loughborough University, United Kingdom, under the Commonwealth programme for which he worked on 'Experimental and Computational Fluid Dynamics Studies on Sprayfreeze-drying and Spray-drying of Proteins'.

His research endeavors are well documented in the form of 105 SCI indexed publications with an average impact factor of 4.11, two International patents and seven Indian patents. He has also authored 4 books and edited 2 books.

Vidwan Portal link


Anandharamakrishnan’s research activities are focused on scientific eminence, aiming on societal benefits with industrial relevance. His key area of research is on the development of Asia’s first ‘engineered human stomach and small intestinal model system’, mimicking the complex bio-mechanical and chemical function of the human digestive system. Further, he developed India’s first indigenous food 3D printer and India's first scientific publication on 3D food printing. 3D printing technology has huge potential in terms of globalization of customized printed foods, personalized nutrition, and applications in food packaging. Recently his publication reported that the printability of egg fraction and food fibers based on the personalized nutrition requirements. He is the national expert in spray-freeze-drying and electrospray-freeze drying of food ingredients developed conditions for micro and nano encapsulation of nutraceutical ingredients for potential health benefits. He has also worked extensively on improving in-vitro digestibility and bioavailability of macro and micronutrients. He had also initiated the Mission Onion Program, under which his team developed first-of-its-kind fully automated shallots processing unit. Further, he launched Mission Coconut Program, and developed a range of value-added products; including tender coconut water powder, enriched coconut milk, coconut nutri-chips and coconut neera.

Important Events

Awards & Recognition

ICAR - Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award for Outstanding Research in Agricultural Sciences - 2019

 DBT - Tata Innovation Fellowship
Tata Innovation Fellowship 2019-20 by DBT, Government of India

 NASI Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee award
NASI Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee award in Biological Sciences (2018)

Outstanding contribution in the field of Engineering Design by the Institution of Engineers, National Design and Research Forum (India)

 All India Food Processors Association (AIFPA)
All India Food Processors Association (AIFPA) conferred him with the Special Platinum Jubilee Award for development of food processing technology and innovation (2018)

Alkyl Amines Padma Bhushan Prof. B.D. Tilak CHEMCON Distinguished Speaker Award from the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers (2016)

Prof. Jiwan Singh Sidhu award
Prof. Jiwan Singh Sidhu award by the AFST(I) for excellence in teaching in the area of food science and technology (2010)

Fellow of National Academy of Sciences - 2019.
Fellow of National Academy of Sciences for his manifold contributions in the field of agri-food processing and nano-scale technologies of food and bioactive ingredients - 2019.

Fellow of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences - 2019
Fellow of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences for his outstanding contributions in the field of Agriculture Engineering and Technology for the year 2019.

Fellow of Association of Food Scientists and Technologists (India) -2017
Fellow of Association of Food Scientists and Technologists (India) -2017

Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)

Fellow of Royal Society of Biology (FRSB)

Fellow of Institute of Engineers (India)

Awards as IIFPT Director

Utkrisht Sansthan Vishwakarma Award 2019
Awarded “Utkrisht Sansthan Vishwakarma Award 2019” for putting their best efforts in the growth and development of adopted villages by AICTE on 24th February 2020.

AICTE-SAGY Initiative Awards-2018
Awarded “AICTE-SAGY Initiative Awards-2018” on the theme “Developed Village-Developed Nation” under Sansad Aadarsh Gram Yojana by Hon’ble Vice President Mr. Venkaiah Naidu for creating entrepreneurship and employment opportunities in rural areas on 21th January 2019.

Best Institute - Innovation on Skill Development
Awarded “Best Institute - Innovation on Skill Development” at “Skilling India” Summit cum Awards by ASSOCHAM held at New Delhi on 1st November 2018.

SKOCH Safe Food Award 2017
Awarded “SKOCH Safe Food Award 2017” during the 50th SKOCH Summit held at Constitution Club of India, Rafi Marg, New Delhi during 20th - 21st December 2017.

FICCI - Excellence in Institutional Social Responsibility
Awarded “FICCI - Excellence in Institutional Social Responsibility” at 13th FICCI Higher Education summit at India Exposition Mart, Greater Noida, Delhi NCR on 9th November 2017.

Excellent Technical Education Institute in Food Processing Technology
Awarded “Excellent Technical Education Institute in Food Processing Technology” at 11th National Education Awards (NEA) Summit by Communication Multimedia and Infrastructure (CMAI) Association of India at Vigyan Bhawan on 4th July 2017

Contact me